Land of the Giants
 was an hour-long American science fiction television program lasting two seasons beginning on September 22, 1968, and ending on March 22, 1970. 
The show was created and produced by Irwin Allen
Land of the Giants was the fourth of Allen's science fiction TV series. 
The show was aired on ABC and released by 20th Century Fox Television
The series was filmed entirely in color and ran for 51 episodes. 
The show starred Gary Conway and Don Marshall. Author Murray Leinster also wrote three novels in 1968 and 1969 based on the television series.

Set in the then-future year of 1983!, the series tells the tale of the crew and passengers of a sub-orbital transport spaceship called the Spindrift. In the pilot episode, the Spindriftis en route from Los Angeles to London via the ultra-fast route of a parabolic trajectory. Just beyond Earth's boundary with space, the Spindrift encounters a strange space storm and is transported to a mysterious planet where everything is twelve times larger than its counterpart on Earth. The Spindrift crew call the inhabitants "the giants". Given relative proportions shown on the show, the giants are humanoid in form and about 72 feet tall (similar to Lemuel Gulliver's situation in the second part of Gulliver's Travels, when he is in the land of Brobdingnag). Everything on their planet is built to their scale — buildings, cars, animals, etc. 

No comments:

Post a Comment